Getting Practical

I made another decision during my hiatus from blogging (first decision here).

I enjoy being practical with my art, and want to focus on making artistic additions to our home. Right now, I am learning how to do mosaics.

If I was smart, I’d make a coaster or two, or perhaps a coffee table top for practice. Instead, I started on a bathroom floor.

Good luck getting rid of this project if it doesn’t work out.

Luckily, my husband is the one breaking and grinding the pieces. I have the fun job of putting them in place. This is not as easy as I first thought.

The little black outlining tiles were one thing. The filler tiles are another. My aim is to achieve a flow in the placement of many irregular shapes. This is followed by “buttering” the tiles with a cement mixture. It’s almost hilarious how simply plucking a piece up, buttering it and placing it back can lead to fitting problems. If the pieces touch, clippers are required on adjoining pieces, followed by rasp work, so there will be no sharp edges for our delicate feet to deal with later.

Oh, and my husband provided spacers to put on either side of the tiles, along with a bridging tile, to keep my tile heights even. He is such a hopeful man, believing the floor will be perfectly even because of these measures.

What should you expect when you buy a bunch of tiles that do not have uniform thicknesses from a store carrying second hand and remaindered items? Personally, I think a perfectly smooth floor is an unrealistic goal. A few slight height variations add character.

OK

The center “medallion” is already grouted. The gray pieces on the second layer are buttered and the cement is dry. There are a few gaps here and there where pieces have to be shaped to fill them.

Off I go to work on the last layer. My knees are complaining already ~ I have been spending quite a few weeks on them.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Home Renovations, Practical Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Getting Practical

  1. Carol Boyer says:

    Dear Carol-

    I am so delighted you have returned to the internet. I have missed you. You have been on my mind as I am working away on my 5th paper quilt. What fun.

    Hugs
    Carol

  2. Sharon Fraser says:

    Hi Carol, It’s great to see you back! Your posts were always a highlight of my day.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Sharon, You make me blush.

      I am retired now (from work work not art work) and am soon booking one on one creative time in my own studio with like minded soul sisters like yourself. Let’s talk! I know we would have a blast.

  3. I’m so happy to hear from you–and I love, love the work!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I’m just crazy enough to be getting a hankering for doing mosaics with really small pieces so I can get more fine detail. However, it is really physical work. Tiles are hard to cut. I may have to put that idea on the shelf. It’s not like there aren’t lots of other things to choose from. You understand completely what I am talking about, oh ye woman of many talents.

  4. Deb Sims says:

    Wowie Zowie! Gorgeous, Carol. Everything you touch turns to gold! Is this in “my” bathroom?

    • CarolWiebe says:

      This is the downstairs bathroom, Deb, soon to be dubbed the studio bathroom. It can be yours again, just drop everything (except your jewelry making supplies) and fly down here!
      I am actually in the process of crocheting cords and designing finer jewelry. I kept dreaming about this and once an idea shows up on your dream landscape you have to deal with it!

  5. Sherri B. says:

    Carol, it’s so good to “see” you again! Wow, that floor is magnificent…truly amazing! Thanks so much for sharing and I’m waving hello from Virginia. :)

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      And I am waving here in Ontario, Sherri! Thank you — the floor is fun to work on, a few hours at a time. And afterwards, I plan to do more mosaic on the wall. Perhaps then my mosaic bug will pass.

  6. Pamela Goode says:

    GREAT-looking floor, and I look forward to seeing it finished!

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Thank you, Pamela. So do I!
      I would really love to do a piece with small mosaic pieces next.
      By the way, I’ve really enjoyed the exploring I’ve done so far on your site.

I LOVE hearing from you!

