Forget Yourself

I’ve been making decisions about what I want to do next, artistically speaking. I could obsess about this. Encourage angst. Wring my hands and moan “Is this the right thing to do, now, at this point in my life?”

Nahhhh. I try to avoid drama when possible. If I can see something, and it keeps repeating itself, letting me know it wants to get done, it’s worth doing.

Therefore, I have committed myself to translating some of my digital pieces into versions I can hang on the wall. This is challenging. The different versions speak different languages. A digital work has light behind it. It is translucent, it glows, it shines. A canvas will only do that if you have the skill to apply the paint to that effect.

Even if you are able to do that, it is still an effect. It does not have an actual light behind it. As a former stained glass artist, I know what an advantage that is for attracting attention.

Or, at a certain point, the work takes on a life of its own and is derivative of, but not identical to, the piece that inspired it.

I spent a year and a half creating at least one (usually 10 to 20) digital works every day. While it is true that these works represent a valid form of artistic expression that can stand alone, I feel the urge to push myself into what I see as another step. I have the vision for it, so I will follow what I see.

Henry Miller said:

The world is so rich, simply throbbing with rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people. Forget yourself.

How fortunate am I that my work allows me to do just that. And it allows me to express the other as well ~ to depict the rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people my life brings my way.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in My Processes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Forget Yourself

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Hey you! Good to see you back on your blog. I have had you on my mind lately, wondering how you are and what wonderful things you’re creating! Can’t wait to see photos of new work.
    Hugs, dear friend !

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Hugs back. Being retired sits very well with me. But every which way I turn there is something calling my name. What wonderful art technique or project shall I explore next? This is not a bad “problem” to have, is it!

  2. Pingback: Getting Practical | Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

  3. Sherri B. says:

    I have no doubt you’ll figure this out, and it will be beautiful. :)

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Thank you, dahling. I shall be visiting your blog shortly for poetic inspiration and some eye entrées (so much more than candy).

I LOVE hearing from you!

