Retirement

Yesterday was my last day of “regular” employment. In other words, I have joined the retirement crowd.

It was an emotional day ~ with hugs all around from staff and students alike.

In my mind I saw a curtain closing on my former life and opening to reveal a new vista of experiences.

I now have the privilege of asking myself, What do I want to do next? Who do I want to be?

I have freeing,  intriguing choices to make. And today is my first day to start making them.

Curtain

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Retirement

  1. Candy Crider says:

    Congratulations on joining the ranks of retired, I was in your class in Auburn, NY last fall and recently retired myself, as you have your studio setup already you will have a great time playing there even more, I am still getting mine set up. Candy C. in Syracuse

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Thanks so much for leaving this comment, Candy. Congratulations! We are going to enjoy ourselves even more in retirement than we did before.

  2. Deb Sims says:

    I only see one problem with this, Carol. Artists never retire! You have simply stopped doing one thing so you can devote yourself full time to your real job!

    • CarolWiebe says:

      I did say from regular employment, ART is another story. I couldn’t retire from that if I wanted to!

  3. Pingback: Crochet On My Last Day | Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

