A New Map

You know that awful art work you have hidden away? The one you conceived with such excitement, and began with such high hopes?

Now, it languishes, out of sight, and you feel guilty, mad, or sad any time you think of it.

What artists with works like this need to face is whether their life is following the same pattern.

Those early ideas, the ones that don’t feel good anymore, can be tossed. Yesterday’s map made sense at one point in the journey, but your destination has changed. Or needs to change, otherwise why would you be stuck?

Look at your art (and life) with fresh eyes and ask, What next?

Then plunge in and do something ~ anything ~ to get your energy flowing again.

Getting There

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, iPad Art, Thought Processes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Map

  1. Sherri B. says:

    Great advice…I love your vibrant image!

  2. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol-
    It is so easy to get caught in the “I coulda” thing. I also cut old stuff that does not work any more or pass it on to someone who is interested- like a nursing home for my old quilts. Artist are like sharks- You do have to keep moving or you die.
    Keep creating
    Carol

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      You’ve put some interesting images in my head, Carol. I’m still dancing, and I know you are too! You are welcome any time to do a round or two in my studio!

I LOVE hearing from you!

