Meet Half Way

Compromise is over-rated.

We are always being told to compromise, to meet others half way, to make sure we get along.

Wouldn’t it be better if we were told it is absolutely fine to be ourselves, that we should NOT compromise on those things that were essential to our being?

I always wanted my parents to let go and let me go. By “let go,” I mean do their own thing, not the things that were expected of them.

Sometimes they managed, but usually the opinions of others were too overwhelming. It became impossible to buck the flow of whatever group they were part of. It’s like one sheep telling the others to flock off.

Does that sound sadly familiar? How many people are joyfully engaged in what they really want to do? How many people even know what that is after years of doing what they think they should?

Meet in the Middle

I certainly hope YOU know what you really REALLY need to do to make your heart sing, or are at least actively engaged in finding out.

I’m listening.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Collage, Digital Art, iPad Art, Thought Processes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet Half Way

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Oh Carol, this is my mantra of late. I am practicing daily living in the moment, doing what makes my heart sing and letting everyone else do the same. I finally figured out I’m the only one I can control. As far as I know this is the only life I have and I intend to spend my time doing the things that feed my soul. Everything else is just fluff.
    xoxo
    And if I get another life after this one I will do the same! Whoo Hoo!

  2. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol- What good advice! I am trying to do what I want first and what is expected- sometimes…. I can not seem to quit cold turkey. but progress is being made.
    Keep Creating
    Hugs
    Carol

I LOVE hearing from you!

