Over Stimulated

I feel over stimulated, yet under nourished, here. She patted her chest, as if her heart hurt.

Maybe you have to stop just accepting the rules, he whispered.

What? She looked up, her attention caught. If he had stated it loudly, she would have been angry.

You know, that it’s the information age and we need to be constantly plugging in, surfing for hours a day, answering  and sending emails, making comments, commenting on comments . . . .

I don’t know if I can do this anymore. Tears welled up in her eyes. I am so tired, and I seem more behind than ever!

Behind what? There was only kindness in his question.

Behind in what I need to do, create, broadcast, write, propose . . .  She could hear the desperation in her own voice.

Then stop. He said it so clearly.

Just like that? I’d be giving up. Everyone would forget about me if I didn’t keep reminding them I was there. Her eyes widened.

Maybe it’s time to test out that theory. Don’t you always tell me you are doing this for yourself, for your own enlightenment?  He said it like a statement, not a question.

She grabbed her sweater. Do you want to go out for a run? No, make that a leisurely stroll.

Written All Over Her Face

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Drawing, iPad Art, Narrative, Photography, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Over Stimulated

  1. Deb Sims says:

    We seem to be constantly in fear of not living up to our own expectations or the expectations of “them.” I’ve decided the only one I need to please is me and “them” will just have to learn to deal with it.

  2. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol-

    You hit the nail on the head here! We all are under this type of self inflicted pressure to do more with less……
    Thanks for stating it!
    Hugs
    Carol
    PS do not worry about being “for gotten” – you are far more powerful and have effected far more lives than you realize!

I LOVE hearing from you!

