Stuck

I’m stuck on the image I created for yesterday’s post. I have made many variations of the same image, and still do not have one I feel completely satisfied with. I simply do not have the skill to create what is in my mind yet. And really, that should come as no surprise. If we could easily produce what we can imagine, in any area of our lives, we would be living in Utopia.

Or would we? How often do you change your mind about what you want?

Realization 2

Realization 3

Realization 4

It’s time to move on. But it is fun to practice identifying problem areas in a drawing and seeing if I can address them. The beauty of drawing on the computer is that I can do it on layers and keep the original pristine. But sooner or later I have to commit and blend the layers together.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stuck

  1. jted says:

    I work in advertising, but in any commercial medium we look for the people who CAN create the image in our heads and pay them to create it. It’s very, very different on an emotional and spiritual level, obviously, but if you take off the cynic hat and consider that there might be another artist out there who can help you achieve your vision, something amazing might happen. It would be an interesting experiment to swap project with another STUCK artist and see what comes of it… Love your posts as always.

  2. Deb Sims says:

    You DO have the skills, they’re all rattling around in that incredible imagination of yours and the right one will roll to the front eventually!!!

  3. annie! says:

    I agree with Deb and know you know it because of the word…yet. It will come to you but in the meantime…I want you to know how wonderful it is in all of the versions above! And yes…I change my mind often and love that I can!

  4. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol-
    Repetition and variation- that is one of the basic parts of art and creation. Keep it up! I think we all suffer from the reality not meeting our “head vision” . So keep trying. Set the work aside for a few day or even a week and go back. The” blindness about ones own work ” can some times be seen with time. Know too we all suffer from this every now and again.
    Keep Creating
    Carol

  5. jted says:

    Just for fun, I STUCK your three images/colours together and create a triptych, almost Andy Warhol style. I think it looks fantastic, like an evolution. I know some people don’t like other people touching/appropriating/messing with their art, but since you are my mom, I figured you’d forgive me. ;-)

    I wish I could post the image here, but I emailed it to you instead.

I LOVE hearing from you!

