Not a Paper Pad ~ an iPad

I’m having a blast learning how to make art on the iPad, with guidance about how to use this instrument from Jessica Wesolek.

Here’s a base made with “pastels.”

Pastel Base

I added some painted/drawn details, more pastel:

Pastel base ~ added details

It evolved into Approaching the Shore:

Approaching the Shore

It’s a strange mix of high-tech and elemental drawing (with the finger, no less), or maybe high-tech that feels elemental.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in iPad Art, Workshops and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not a Paper Pad ~ an iPad

  1. motleydragon says:

    Carol, that looks amazing! I have been watching your other posts, and it will be interesting to see how this new tool will give you new inspiration and new techniques. I still haven’t bought an IPad… I’m not sure that I would use it much except as an ereader, and for just that one application it is too expensive. But I understand it can do many other things as well! I will be checking in frequently. I have learned that you will be teaching this summer at the Wellington County Museum. I have enjoyed several classes at the Elora Summer Art School and am considering it again this year… it will depend upon renovation plans which are just getting started.
    Cheers, from motleydragon, at investmeinmymotley.wordpress.com

    • CarolWiebe says:

      I thought the same thing about the iPad, but am definitely changing my mind. You can take it anywhere to sketch/paint, and have a ton of colours, brushes and textures at your fingertips PLUS have it save everything for you to send to your computer. Ton sounds heavy, doesn’t it? But that was the old way of dragging boxes of paint, brushes, water, paper around).

      I don’t sell the things (wish I did), but I am pretty excited about them as mini-art studios.

  2. kestrelart says:

    Hi
    Interesting. Which app was this, please?

    • CarolWiebe says:

      I used 2 very simple apps: iPastels and PhotoPad.

      It is really quite amazing how you feel as if you are smearing the pastel around.

      • kestrelart says:

        thanks – ive been using artrage and sketchpad and, most of all, zen brush. Artrage piece going up on the blog later today. however, i’ll get the two you suggest and try them out. i agree, it is a great tool, especially for trying out ideas to tranfer to analogue materials. i’ve also been manipulating photographs of pieces in progress to test the next direction, as with White Birds.

  3. CarolWiebe says:

    Yes, that is the most exciting thing about digital work, using it test directions ahead of an analogue work in progress, instead of having to do a bunch of sketches and approximations.

    Of course, all those sketches are practice, and mean you have a surer and more experienced hand. But this is the new way. Some like it, some don’t. I happen to find it exciting.

I LOVE hearing from you!

