Solid Footing

I am not feeling very grounded, she said.

What do you mean? He sounded genuinely puzzled.

(I guess he never feels that way, she thought. There’s no point in getting pissed off about it.)

I don’t feel as if my footing is solid, dependable. She sighed.

Perhaps it’s your footwear, he teased. Those heels are pretty long and narrow. Sexy, though.

It’s not about my heels. It’s about feeling confident that I am where I should be in my life. Any slight feeling of unease could become an existential dilemma for her.

But this is where you are, he said. It puzzles me why you think you should be anywhere else.

Let’s go dancing. She grabbed his hand. I think you just settled something for me.

Grounded

To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily. Not to dare is to lose oneself.
………….~ Soren Kierkegaard

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Solid Footing

  1. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol-

    Great concept! I love the quote. You are amazing.
    Keep creating
    Carol

    • CarolWiebe says:

      I am more amazed than amazing, Carol. I just love to see, create art, and let my mind fling thoughts around.

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Carol, I don’t know how you ever get any sleep you have so much going on in your head. You are so often saying what I am thinking.
    love you!
    deb

  3. CarolWiebe says:

    I hope that doesn’t frighten you. It does comfort me.
    Love, Carol

I LOVE hearing from you!

