Life Is Seldom Static

Those smooth, wide open highways ~ the ones with big shoulders and clear white lines ~ seem made to travel in style. On that kind of road, you feel as if the way is clear, as if you were meant to take it.

But the bumpy roads, with narrow gravel shoulders and potholes ~ lots of potholes ~ what do you do when you hit those? Are you suddenly uncertain, ready to throw the map (or GPS) out the window? Doubt flares. Perhaps you were wrong about thinking this was the way to go.

Maybe not knowing where to go, just following the road and seeing what comes up, dealing with whatever happens, learning from everything that comes along, is not such a bad way to live.

When we’re advised to enjoy the journey, it’s just another way of saying that we should enjoy life, because life is seldom static.

Potholes

There are, in fact, those who think it’s a good thing to have no idea where we’re going. At least for a while.

It may be when we no longer know what to do, we have come to our real work, and that when we no longer know which way to go, we have begun our real journey.
…………..~ Wendell Berry 

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Photography, Quotations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life Is Seldom Static

  1. Candy Crider says:

    sorry but I do not like the new way these come to my email, I was able to save your previous posts to their own folder where I could enjoy them over again and now I cannot do that. Love you work and the readings you post – Candy

    • CarolWiebe says:

      CIndy, I changed to the summary format because I have this seemingly unredeemable habit of changing my posts after I publish them. I like the thought that by simply clicking on the title link of the post, you will always get the “latest, greatest” version. I really do appreciate your support!

  2. Deb Sims says:

    As I get older I realize that I know less and less for sure. And I have decided that is a gift–a gift of possibilities and new discoveries and adventures I had never imagined. Following the road where it leads, potholes and all, seems to me the best way. Sometimes the potholes are really pots of gold that take us to magical places. Live in the moment, be aware of the small miracles around you and enjoy the journey.

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Deb, I love your world view. But you already knew that. You have no idea how many times I wish I could just sit with you over a pot of tea and enjoy your wonderful smile (and the brain behind it).

  3. Pingback: Pothole Auras and Burning Layers « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

