Chasing Perfection

.

I couldn’t just leave yesterday’s design alone. As usual, I have a natural inclination towards symmetrical design. I blame it on my childhood love of kaleidoscopes.

No, I attribute it to my childhood love of kaleidoscopes. Why should I disparage my own taste, because some consider asymmetry superior? When everyone is following the same rule, it is no longer more interesting.

On the other hand, since I must always be my own devil’s advocate, why should I have to choose which I like better?

I can do it on the computer, but in real life, it is almost impossible to achieve symmetry. Near symmetry, yes, but not perfect symmetry.

Perhaps it is not my love of kaleidoscopes, after all, that prompts me to flaunt symmetry. I may just be chasing perfection. (sigh) We all know where that leads.

On Stage

A principle is the expression of perfection, and as imperfect beings like us cannot practise perfection, we devise every moment limits of its compromise in practice.
……….~ Mahatma Gandhi

An artist’s only concern is to shoot for some kind of perfection, and on his own terms, not anyone else’s.
……….~ J. D. Salinger

And in fact, I think the more we start to worship perfection the more soul leaks out of art.
……….~ Kathy Mattea

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Can't help wondering . . . . ., Digital Art, Painting, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chasing Perfection

  1. Carol Boyer says:

    Carol-
    That last quote is scary – I do not like the idea of the soul “leaking”out of anything!
    I am so glad that you are a CREATOR!
    Hugs
    Carol

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      To me it just means that by overworking a piece of art due to perfectionist tendencies, the “life” of the art is dimmed. All the wonderful spirit that went into the idea thus leaks out, as we try to flog the poor thing into submission.

      That doesn’t make for exciting, spirit filled art!

  2. The title “On Stage” is so descriptive! I love the Kathy Mattea quote. A good reminder to not pare down or stand in the way of art, but to allow it to be what it will, a partnership between artist and all the elements of art. Sometimes I think it’s as though art is waiting to speak, only needing the artist to come and be her voice.

I LOVE hearing from you!

