Sacred Scars

.

This is my latest painting. It has a lot of texture–extreme texture, in fact. The sides, which are not visible on this image, are textured as well.

I am not going to talk about this piece today, except to quote the phrase by Nietzche, That which does not kill us makes us stronger.

Sacred Scars

The actual painting is on a wooden substrate that looks like a wrapped canvas.  It is 10″ by 8.” There is no frame. I actually like it better that way ~ the starkness suits the subject.

Another view shows what a challenge this piece was for me to photograph the colors accurately:

Sacred Scars

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Can't help wondering . . . . ., Painting, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sacred Scars

  1. annie! says:

    Incredible painting.

  2. Thank you for sharing this powerful work of art, and the title is so rich and true! Nietzche was right.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Thank you, Paulann! It spoke powerfully to me, as well. It’s one of the reasons I keep doing art–to “receive” images and words that teach and inspire me.

  3. Jamie Scott says:

    Carol, this piece really is stunning. The colours and the textures – just fantastic. I think this is one of my favourites. Thanks for sharing!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Jamie, it has been a real pleasure meeting with you and sharing our vision about art and life! Thank you for your kind words.

  4. Sandra says:

    Beautiful work, Carol. Inspiring. Love the title. Thank you for sharing. I agree, better without the frame and I prefer the colors in the one on the flickr site.

I LOVE hearing from you!

