Winging It

.

I was just winging it.

Have you ever used that phrase, convinced you got away with something because you really hadn’t prepared for it? And yet, it went well!

Let’s say you were asked to give a talk on a topic with which you have some expertise. You wrote down relevant points, but suddenly had an undeniable urge to clean your kitchen. Part of you was convinced you would make a fool of yourself if you didn’t spend every spare moment writing and re-writing your speech. Another part of you, this sudden clean freak, kept scrubbing ~ finding and purging your kitchen of stains that could barely be seen by the human eye.

When speech night arrived, you were nervous and self deprecating. Why didn’t you prepare better? However, once you started to talk, you decided you might as well speak from the heart. It turned out that your particular audience wanted just that. They responded warmly, and you felt as gratified as you did relieved.

Is it luck that made your speech go well? Or did your intuition urge you to avoid over-thinking and over-writing a topic that you could speak of with great passion, if only you got out of your own way?

Sometimes winging it is really allowing yourself to fly above your own self imposed limitations.

Winging It 1

Winging It 2

I ask myself if I really want  to judge language that wants to be spoken or a character who wants to show up. I understand that I am both the director and the follower of my art. I am well aware that the story or poem is wiser than I am and that I must manage to get out of my own way for it to come out of sacred hiding or to open wide enough on the page to allow a reader entry.
…………..Parthenia Hicks (Los Gatos Poet Laureate 2010- 2012),  Artist’s Statement

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Quotations, Writers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winging It

  1. tammy vitale says:

    that quote is perfect and the artwork is fabulous! those blues: oh my!

  2. Somewhere in the tedious writing of a “lesson plan” in an application for an art class I was proposing to teach, it occurred to me that what I was rebelling against most was that I never, ever teach an art class without “winging it.” There is something about the nature of creativity–doing it, sharing it, encouraging it, that almost requires wings. At least for me.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Why am I NOT surprised?

      You are SO right. “There is something about the nature of creativity–doing it, sharing it, encouraging it, that requires wings.” ~ Julianne Fuchs-Musgrave

      I’m adding that to my quote collection.

  3. Carol Boyer says:

    Dear Carol-

    We all seem to think less of our selves than we should. I wonder if one can really get beyond that point?
    I am starting a Blog of my own-( today was a disastor and I lost all my images from two mouths of posts…..) any way I want to quote you as I am making Paper Quilts- three finished and two more in the works- and I do not want to do that with out your permission. I can connect to your posts/web page as a part of the process if you are interested.
    Thanks
    Carol Boyer

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Carol–I would be honoured to be connected to you and your work. Please send me a link as soon as possible. You were fabulous at my Cracked Paper Quilt class-you just RAN with everything I threw at the class!

      How did you lose your images? That is so discouraging.

  4. Carol, your art is rich and intriguing! I think you’re right about over-thinking and over-preparing. Maybe the best is “presented” in the marriage of our knowledge as foundation and our passion as voice. Over preparation can rob us of the life of what we know. Sometimes “winging it” takes us to a work of art. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your art! ~ Paulann

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Paulann, you have a rich and luscious way of expressing yourself . . . knowledge as foundation and passion as voice is such a perfect way of describing what I was trying to say!

  5. Hello Carol, I just discovered that you used the quote from my artists statement and I want to thank you and also tell you how honored I am that you connected it to your great art.

I LOVE hearing from you!

