Enjoying Your Own Deepest Experience

.

Enjoying Your Own Deepest Experience is much more than a subtitle: it’s a life strategy.

It comes from a book by Sally Kempton, called Meditating For the Love of It: Enjoying Your Own Deepest Experience. There is much to ruminate on within this book, including Elizabeth Gilbert‘s forward, which is a humourously self-deprecating, unabashed endorsement of Kempton’s approach to meditation.

Kempton goes right to the point in the beginning of chapter one:

Meditation is not something for which you need a special talent, the way you need a talent for mathematics or art. The real key to going deep in meditation is wanting to go deep. The more you crave the taste of the inner world, the easier it is to meditate. In Sanskrit that desire is called mumukshutva, the wish for freedom that comes with Self-knowledge. Your desire doesn’t have to be huge at first. Even a slight spark of interest is enough, because the inner world is actually yearning to open up to you.

Even a Slight Spark Is Enough

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Can't help wondering . . . . ., Digital Art, Photography, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enjoying Your Own Deepest Experience

  1. Sherri B. says:

    Wow, your image so perfectly represents what it must be like to go deep into the world…I say “must be like” because I haven’t quite experienced that yet. lol…but I definitely have a spark! I truly need to start giving meditation a try. Beautiful work!

  2. wonderful! I once asked in a meditation class if there was a way to reach the place (in meditation) I so easily find myself while working. She looked at me and said, “Are you talking about ‘flow’?” I nodded my head, and she smiled at me gently. “Just don’t leave.” It took me ages to understand she wasn’t suggesting I remain rooted to the easel or camera.

I LOVE hearing from you!

