Passionately Curious

.

I have HUNDREDS of drafts over at Silverspring Studio that are languishing, and I am wondering what to do about them.

When things catch my eye, or ear,  I like to register them on my computer. Silverspring Studio has been my depository of choice for quite a few years now.

I wonder if a really good analyst could spend a few hours at my computer and figure out way more about me than I’d want them to.

On the other hand, maybe I ‘d be intrigued that someone was that curious! I’d definitely want to engage them in conversation: what interested them? Why? What are their passions?

Listening

I’ve always had a good ear for people’s passions.  I hear them. I want to know MORE.

I dug things up. I was curious. I liked to draw what I found.
………~ Mary Leakey

I have a notion that if you are going to be spiritually curious, you better not get cluttered up with too many material things.
………~Mary Oliver

I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.
………~Albert Einstein

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Digital Art, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Passionately Curious

  1. Excellent! The question rose in some class, “What one thing from childhood is still with you.” Easy–I was babysat by my grandmother, who would take me with her everywhere–with the expectation that I would sit quietly. I did, and learned to listen. It didn’t occur to me until much, much later that listening is like reading. If you are very quiet–you hear stories.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      You’re right, Julianne. It requires a certain stillness: a poised listening, until the story drops into your awareness.

      Your grandmother was a wonderful influence on you. Isn’t it amazing what expectations can do? They imply belief in someone.

  2. tammy vitale says:

    Perfect post for me as my word for this year is “curious!” Looks like I’m in good company. =]

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Oh yes, Tammy–we are definitely two curiosity aficionados. Curiosity and creativity are inextricably linked.

  3. Deb Sims says:

    Love this image!!

I LOVE hearing from you!

