Sample the Whole Banquet

.

Does this ever happen to you?

You are together with those you love best, having a great time, when you suddenly feel overwhelmed by sadness.

I have learned that trying to make sense of this is futile. It just happens; the best thing I can do is keep the feelings to myself and wait for them to pass. (Sometimes, they are not even my own: I am picking them up from another.)

There is nothing wrong with giving feelings their due, but if they are taken too seriously, it is possible to constantly stuff yourself with a certain emotional dish, instead of continuing to sample the whole fabulous banquet.

Picking Up the Threads

Humour is emotional chaos remembered in tranquillity.
…….. ~ James Thurber

Painful as it may be, a significant emotional event can be the catalyst for choosing a direction that serves us – and those around us – more effectively. Look for the learning.
…….. ~ Louisa May Alcott

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Can't help wondering . . . . ., Digital Art, Quotations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sample the Whole Banquet

  1. Yes, I can totally relate. I wonder if it’s an ancestral pain……anyway, this year for the first time ever, even though both kinder weren’t with us, I did NOT experience that melancholy that tugs at Christmas. I don’t know why or why not, but it was a new experience and I rather liked it!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I should say so! Usually, Flora, I just wait until it passes. I am glad you and Larry had a good, un-melancholic Christmas! Ours was wonderful, except for the fact that our granddaughter had the flu for three days and was uncharacteristically lacking in energy.

I LOVE hearing from you!

