A Sweet Christmas Greeting

.

Like you, I have many different sides to my personality. They run the whole scale, from deeply looking into your eyes serious, to gasping with laughter silly. I don’t think I have to explain where this image falls on that scale.

The pic was taken at a special needs school, where I teach READING IS FUN to four and five year olds. That is, I tell stories, sing, read poems, have conversations about what we are wearing and where we have wounds (also known as ow-ies or boo-boos). The students are SO open with me, and I endeavour to be every bit as open with them. They love it when I can’t find things and they help me find them, or my materials slip onto the floor and they are able to assist me with the cleanup. They howl with laughter if I just about fall off my chair or trip over a library book, and say “OOPS!” Once I told them I still had paint on my hands from the latest painting I was working on and they ran up, en masse, to peal the paint off with their nimble little fingers. It was a strange, but not unpleasant feeling.  The first thing we do, when a class comes in, is sing the library song to the tune of “We Will Rock You” while I pound out the beat on a cube chair with a boom-whacker. It never fails to bring smiles to their faces, or mine.

I do not run a typical, elementary school library.

I have a puppet named Candy who every student in school considers a personal friend. You just look at her and you know why–did you ever see a wider smile (or blue-er eye shadow) ?

Both Candy and I wish you a very merry Christmas today. Notice that her name comes first. For ten years, it has always been that way. I am just her sidekick.

Merry Christmas from Candy and Carol

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Can't help wondering . . . . . and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sweet Christmas Greeting

  1. Lynda Warder says:

    Loved it Carol …did you make Candy? You are so talented. I love your daily muses. Happy 2012, Lynda …from the doll class @ UWO

  2. annie! says:

    You are a very special person.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Annie, I believe with my whole being that we are all special, and that we can all be creative. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas Day!

  3. Sherri B. says:

    How wonderful, Carol – I would love to visit that library and see all those adorable kids. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas…and I’m wishing you a very Happy 2012!

I LOVE hearing from you!

