The Red Bird Abides

.

Yesterday I posted my latest painting (21″ x 21.5,”). It is one of those pieces I put it out with fear and trembling. It means so much to me, but will it communicate the strong emotions that produced it?

Red Bird

I wrote a poem to go with it, and again, I have many personal connections with the subject. I will let you judge for yourself, but my hope is that it will speak to you.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Painting, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Red Bird Abides

  1. absolutely beautiful, especially “…insistent on loving life more fiercely, with no conditions attached.” I want you to know that even on the days when I tuck your pieces into my “To Read” file, there is such pure wonderment in every gift you send out. May your Christmas be wonderful!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      May your Christmas be wonderful as well, Julianne, and thank you for your support. I am determined to come visit you explore Washington D.C. with you. We will have to talk about that!

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Carol, my dear friend. I am sitting here with tears running down my face. You have captured so beautifully with words and images the feelings and experiences I have been going through for the last two months. And just this morning over Starbucks I had a conversation with my dear friend Rhoda about flying, about remembering that we can fly and remembering to do it so we don’t forget how. LIfe is a glorious surprise party. We have no guarantees and we can’t tie life down with bargaining. I am walking into the future with great joy and no conditions attached. Life is a beautiful gift. I refuse to waste one moment of it worrying about things I cannot control! I know less and less for sure and that’s ok–I’m flying.
    much love and many warm hugs, deb

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      It makes me feel so happy to connect with you in this way. Your attitude and joie de vivre, not to mention your kick-ass sense of humour, are among the great things you’ve shared with me.

  3. annie! says:

    How incredibly powerful. I came here because I saw your painting in Flickr and after reading your words…I am deeply moved. Your grateful heart will carry you with the softest of air as you continue to spread those wings. My love and blessings are reaching out and touching you.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      What a lovely way you have expressed yourself here ~ it has moved me, in turn. I accept your love and blessings with deep gratitude, and also wish you many soaring flights!

      I was just thinking how often many people, especially women, keep saying they are sorry for this or that. Instead, we should be saying “I’m soaring.”

I LOVE hearing from you!

