That Invaluable Viewfinder

People often ask me why I am taking a particular photograph.

Why is that interesting to you?

Can you see something there?

Isn’t that just a (fill in the blank) ?

The questions usually reflect a common reaction, which is puzzlement. However, if I stop and show them the photograph I have just snapped, in the viewfinder of my camera, the puzzlement will then elicit a smile, and an acknowledgement that the photo was worth taking. It’s as if, as small as it is, the viewfinder has framed my vision and created a tiny painting that is now accessible.

The viewfinder does that for me, as well. I use it to compose the photograph in the first place, and I usually try quite a few variations. Thanks to digital cameras, I don’t have to worry about “wasting” film.

My camera’s viewfinder, then, is invaluable ~ as an adjunct to my own eyes, and a display for others.

Ripped Out Porch Pile ~ Pile of Used Lumber

I don’t know about you, but I would hang the following version on MY wall!

Magenta Deconstruction

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That Invaluable Viewfinder

  1. This is marvelous!! I’ve never gotten those questions while shooting, just the funny looks. What I have gotten on a fairly regular basis through the years is, “Where was that?” And often it’s a cropped-down focus on something, or somewhere recognizable–but “invisible” to most. I taught a drawing class for adults years ago where my intent (as always) was to encourage not only the manual skills of putting lines on paper–but more importantly–seeing. I wish I’d had your phrase, “framed my vision.”
    As always, thanks Carol!

  2. I absolutely get it – as one who drools over colors and textures, I would take the same type of photo as the one above. It’s beautiful! I just got a new camera and am learning Photoshop Elements…it’s funny to realize the different perspectives my husband and I have when taking pictures. I tend to zoom in and focus on a shadow, pattern or a small piece of something, whereas he wants to zoom out and get the big picture. Have a great Sunday, Carol~~ :~)

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I hope you had a great Sunday as well, Sherri. I didn’t get on the computer until now because my whole drive had to be copied onto another drive . . . seven hours!

      Have FUN with Photoshop ELements. For such a reasonably priced program, it can do a LOT.

I LOVE hearing from you!

