Nice Accident

I took a few journals outside to spray with workable fixative. I placed a double page spread on the patio stones, and was delighted with the way the plants above them cast shadows over them.

Of course I had to run and get my camera and capture the effect on a few more pages. Having plant shadows fall on pages that have a plant-like feel to them is a nice accident. Nice accident sounds like an oxymoron to me ~ that’s why Jung coined the word synchronicity to use instead.

Plant Shadows 1

Plant Shadows 2

Plant Shadows 3

In shamanistic cultures, synchronicities are considered to be teachings as well as signs indicating where one should focus one’s attention. Such correspondences demonstrate the usually hidden links between the individual psyche and the larger world.

…………~ Daniel Pinchbeck

According to Vedanta, there are only two symptoms of enlightenment, just two indications that a transformation is taking place within you toward a higher consciousness. The first symptom is that you stop worrying. Things don’t bother you anymore. You become light-hearted and full of joy. The second symptom is that you encounter more and more meaningful coincidences in your life, more and more synchronicities. And this accelerates to the point where you actually experience the miraculous.

…………~ Deepak Chopra

If only God would give me a sign – like making a large deposit in my name in at Swiss bank.

…………~ Woody Allen

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Books / Journals, Photography, Quotations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nice Accident

  1. I think without doubt that “synchronicity” is one of my very favorite words. Interestingly, when I was in a semester of 23 credits mixed between psychology & studio art, I learned the term in an Art Theory class, used it in Abnormal Child Psych., and began working lesson plans around it as a teaching artist.

    In this case, I think one of the loveliest effects is to respond to the shadows, that then pull you in to the movement of the art.

    Thanks Carol

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      That’s a terrific combination, Julianne, psychology and studio art. They would really inform each other. Of course, I think art informs everything else in life (and vice versa).

      One could explore the shadow archetype forever, and attempt to dig up one’s repressions and become conscious of one’s projections–I just like shadows (sometimes a shadow is just a shadow). Can I see you smiling?

I LOVE hearing from you!

