Don’t Tell

Last night, I grabbed a piece of plain, computer paper along with a magazine, needle and black thread, and a black pen. I started ripping pieces out of the paper and sewing magazine scraps behind them. Other bits of pages were added on top. I let my needle be my pen, and sometimes I drew with the actual pen ~ like that face near the top right corner.

Original stitched collage

This morning, I scanned the collage and fixed it up a bit.

Fixed up collage

Some would call this an improvement, some wouldn’t. Whether or not it’s an improvement is not the point ~ what I learn playing around with these tools is my real aim.

I really liked the center of that strange green and red shape: it has entered my shape/symbol library. Oh, and the gagged face just to the left of the first face I mentioned was a total surprise. I saw it in the design.

Then I added another face I drew last night. I aslo layered in a pic of the back of the original piece.

Don't Tell 1

Now I turned the whole thing blue and added a different version of the original face.

Don't Tell 2

I really like the bottom section. The woman seems to be considering whether or not to tell. I think she will.

Finally, I created another version using the second face, twice.

Don't Tell 3

I don’t know if I will go any further with this particular piece, but my methods were fun and all 3 would make excellent collage papers. Make that 4, if I include the back of the original collage (and I will).

If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything.

…………. ~ Mark Twain

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Collage Paper, Drawing, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Tell

  1. Val Hearder says:

    Love this Carol. A different approach has brought a very unique look to this piece. Lots to offer here.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Thanks, Val. For me, it’s all about creating the collage papers. They are the basis everything else that I do.

  2. Pingback: Memories Keep Surfacing « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

    • Jane Davies says:

      Beautiful process, Carol. Thanks for sharing. I am wondering: do you consider the digital entity the final piece, or do you use the digital manipulations to see where you might go with it in actual material? I work both ways, and am just curious.

      • Carol Wiebe says:

        It depends on the audience, I guess, because I can’t possibly bring all my digital explorations into physical existence. That said, most of them originate that way, and then I just carry them further. Some are so compelling that I print out all or parts of them and create actual mixed media works, with paint and paper and stitch and . . . .

        My answer, then, is both ways. I do use digital manipulations to help me see where to go with a piece, but then, when I start working with it physically, I also move forward in unexpected ways. After a while, I don’t know which came first anymore–the digital or the physical. It all just flows together.

        Thanks so much for the question, Jane. Your work and your approach ring true for me me, and I have pulled out “Collage Journeys” for another look. I especially appreciate your discussion of metaphors: being a poet, I live and breathe metaphorically. I have observed that children with language delays will often laugh spontaneously at a relevant metaphor, even if they can’t express why it is so funny to them. You see the light go on, even if their receptive abilities are somehow compromised. I think the right metaphor cuts through a lot of blabbity-blab and allows a gestalt of comprehension to happen.

I LOVE hearing from you!

