The Last Installment

Stitched and Painted Collage has seen many changes. One thing about painting–once you cover up a layer, it is gone. What you see on the surface is what you get. There is a finality about it that brooks no sentimental hankering for what you left behind.

Stitched and Painted Collage 2

At the next stage, a name for the painting emerged and that rectangular patch behind the flower became my focal point. It developed from an outlined area into a full fledged door.

Finding the Door to My Secret Garden

The “last installment” became  darker, figuratively and literally, and the flower took on a surprising importance. The cross, it seems to me, has to do with the biblical stories I read, as a young woman, of Christ in the garden, facing the certainty of  a terrible death. In my painting, the flower is as tall as the cross, and I appreciate that because original blessing makes more sense to me than original sin. That circle up to the right of the door would not go away, despite many layers and choices as to what should be hidden. I think of it as a mandala, representing wholeness. After the door  to the secret garden has been found, and opened, wholeness is possible. A sense of wholeness equals redemption in my thealogy (that is NOT a typo).

Finding the Door to My Secret Garden 3

If you are viewing this piece, I’d love to hear your impressions and ideas. It helps me understand–my work, my self and you.

For me, that’s what makes this work worthwhile.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic paint, Collage, Painting, Paintings, Stitch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Last Installment

  1. Wonderful work! I love that being an artist gives the freedom of the “finality about it that brooks no sentimental hankering for what you left behind.” And still, there is something about our visual memory, an internal pentimento that allows the earlier stages of a work to remain with us, only us as the maker.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Ooooooooo, love that word, pentimento–and YES, Julianne, it is our own, and how delicious is that.

  2. Holly says:

    I don’t have a particularly profound comment about the end result, but I have to tell you how much I enjoy being taken through the process. It’s fascinating. As someone who’s just learning to open up that part of herself I find it very inspiring to see how others do it. And I think the end result is stunning.

  3. cynthia wilkerson says:

    Carol, reading your notes, sounds like reading my own, except I use Gimp. I love taking photos and layering, and filtering my way into all kinds of stuff that looked nothing like it did in the beginning. I have enjoyed visiting your site, and admire your work and your quirk. LOL
    I promise to visit again, and if I weren’t bombarding my facebook with stuff right now I would fan you. Kindred spirits, C

I LOVE hearing from you!

