A Dawning Awareness

I am evaluating what I’ve been doing for the last few months. I see LOTS of painting starts.

I don’t see many finished paintings.

It’s obvious that I am in transition. I keep jumping out of the starting gate, but the races are not being won. They’re not even being completed.

This dawning awareness is somewhat painful . . . but I am determined to push through. I think I need another workshop with Jeane. She possesses an amazing facility to push you into employing your crap as fertilizer. Please don’t misunderstand me–I am NOT saying that what I have been doing the last few months is bad. It’s just not getting down to the bone, and that’s the level I want to expose. The bones, the organs, the absolute interior, the darkness. I am not talking about negativity either, just honesty. I am scooting around things, giving them a bit of a poke, tidying up, putting makeup over the blemishes.

Perhaps I need some meds and a good night’s sleep. Or, maybe I need to REALLY limit myself, like to a few colors and one paint brush, and just paint the hell out of a few hundred pieces of paper until I recognize what it is I’m looking for.

Dawning Awareness

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Thought Processes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dawning Awareness

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Don’t forget it’s journey not a destination! This is just a side trip along the way to sight see and let your mind play!

  2. Phillipa says:

    Getting down to the nitty gritty..I also struggle with “theres too much out there” and rein it in..Trying to keep working with just what I find, recycle, and easy dying. ie coffee n rust.Limit the colours etc etc..BUT that aint working too well. so Ive now decided not to fight it too much..Im drawn to over the top colour, texture and bling..AND subdued palette of neutrals..So Ive givin up the fight on limiting to one style..I am a 2 style artist..I think…Maybe….lol
    I love your paintings..The mark making is very appealing.
    This is one of my mark making paintings from the past.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/puddlepuss/5079958128/in/photostream

    Love the mark making…seee cant make up my mind..lol

    Keep working . Im enjoying following as You sound just like me..

  3. Carol Wiebe says:

    Thanks so much, Phillipa. I DON”T think an artist has to limit themselves, I just meant that I wanted to concentrate on CONTENT instead of MATERIALS. Then, while brushing my teeth last night, I just burst out laughing. WHy get my tail in a knot. Art is about getting into my inner self, yes, but it’s mostly about having FUN. I can get too damn serious sometimes.

    PS–So you’ve “moved beyond” the mark making paintings? I see some real possibilities there!

I LOVE hearing from you!

