As Innocuous As Possible

I suddenly realized I had not painted a painting for a while. I grabbed a few tubes of paint, and a magazine page, and went at it. I’ve said before that I love painting on top of magazine pages. I like them to be as innocuous as possible, like a few necklaces I would never wear, or a food ad.

A Certain Way of Seeing 1

Photoshop Elements gives you the ability to really pump up the saturation and see the painting in a brighter version:

A Certain Way of Seeing 2 (more saturated)

I was “under the weather” today, so I sat at the computer and made a bunch of variations. But for now, my big comfy chair and a fabulous book, “The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss, are calling.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic paint, Painting, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As Innocuous As Possible

  1. Phillipa says:

    What a huge difference..I love it..Must learn photoshop one of these days..
    I spend faaarrr tooo much time reading and getting inspired by blogs. :).
    Enjoy your book.
    Regards Phillipa

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Thanks, Phillipa. Sometimes I want subtle shades, other times, I go for knock ’em dead brights. Both have their place, depending on what I am trying to say. I can also combine them, and limit the bright section to a center of interest while leaving the rest more grayed. That is the beauty of playing digitally, you get to see many variations without lifting your brush. Then, when you do some “real” painting again, you have a very good idea how to make improvements that you know you are going to like.

      On the other hand . . . maybe you miss out on a few more surprises, and it’s better to wing it!

I LOVE hearing from you!

