What Is Going On?

I’ve been thinking about the differences between collage and painting.

When I use paint, and only paint, there is great excitement involved in anticipating the outcome. Risks are high. Once I have painted over something, what lies beneath is gone. With collage, I can see exactly how colors and patterns go together. I can place a collage element here or there, and know that when I place it, it will look as good as my eye judged it to be. There is less guesswork.

Soon, however, that advantage goes out the window as I paint into my collage. Now I run the same risks I mentioned before, except that I can always add MORE collage over a spot that ends up looking dreadful.

All this sounds like I take myself WAY too seriously. Sometimes I do, but I have a knack for being and appreciating the ridiculous, so it seldom takes long before I have a good laugh at myself and just get on with it.

Then there is digital art making.  Ahhh, the layers allow you such freedom to experiment, and save every nuance, loose nothing. Until, that is, you have SO many layers, and SO many saved versions that you get completely confused and don’t know what is what anymore.

I like a work of art that I can put on my wall, hold in my hand, that has actual substance (I believe I have mentioned this before) beyond pixels on a screen. Once I print my digital work out, and I am back at the point of using the printout as a collage element, or painting into it. Even if I stitch it, the painting and collage must enter in.

There is no free ride, no passing go without spending a few sleepless nights in jail. Every single thing I make requires risks, decisions, mistakes, cover-ups, eurekas, hallelujahs, expletives and laughter.

There is always a whole lot of learning going on.

Yesterday’s Four Red Orbs morphed into Intersection:

Intersection

See also:

Red gold pattern 4

Red gold pattern 6

There were qite a few blue versions as well:

Blue pattern 1

Blue pattern 3

I think I did 30 designs, all told (and that is not an April fool’s joke). Tomorrow I’ll share my favorites.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes, Digital Art, My Processes, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Is Going On?

  1. Tammy Vitale says:

    Visceral response to “Intersection” – yummy!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Love those visceral responses, from my own gut and the guts of others. There is something magical about intersection, is there not? You and I seem to intersect, or converge, quite often, Tammy. Great guts instinct alike. (Can’t help myself.)

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Intersection is fabulous! I want it on my wall!

  3. arlee says:

    WOW Carol those red and gold pieces are VERY inspiring! They remind me of some of my hand dyes so think i will be working with them with a nudge from you–thank you!!!!!!!!

  4. TammyM says:

    Saw your link via Arlees blog… love your work. I had to laugh at your writing the words resonate with me. I often find that the hardest parts of creativity are taking risks and time and time again I am grateful that I have so much stuff/junk to continue experimenting and sometimes I find there are so many happy surprises. Anyway .. love your work. :)

  5. Pingback: Kinetic Energy « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

