Coming Through

I am still working steadily on the painting in a shadowbox, the quilt for the Grand National and a couple pages in one of my art journals (which are all drying as I type). It is Spring Break, this week, which allows me to have so much on the go.

The problem is, I have nothing to “show,” except this little stitched piece, taken from an artwork I made long ago. I don’t know why I spend time tracing the “lineage” ~ it seems better to consider each element of a collage as just that, an element, a certain color or texture, or pattern. “Does this fit here? ” is the relevant question, not “Where did this come from?” But then (I am always my own devil’s advocate), doesn’t the history add richness, a greater depth of meaning, to the new artwork?

Coming Through

I am working at not thinking so much.

In the evening I “take a break” from making art in my studio, and simply stitch by hand (doodling with thread). You never know where and when a little stitched piece might come in handy. My hands have a hard time sitting still: they want to follow my mind, which is usually in motion.

I am working at simply sitting still. Take a look through the rest of Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud to see how much success I am having with that particular goal. There is always something “coming through.” Only a fabulous, grab-my-attention-and-run-with-it book can still these hands and head. That, and a great conversation, or terrific movie. A tasty dessert has temporary stopping power.

There, you see, I am not so driven as it first appeared.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Books / Journals, Art Processes, Paper quilts, Stitch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Through

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Dear Carol, I understand this constant mental and physical urge to be thinking, making, reading, etc. Out of all the hours I spent sitting in church I only remember two sermons. One because my son Austin made loud verbal comments on the rhetoric as the priest was speaking, leaving him forever etched into that priest’s memory as “the one time I knew at least one person was listening.” The other was by a bishop at an ordination service and he spoke of his wishes that these deacons who were being ordained might someday go on to become priests. But, he said, there is one very important thing to remember. We are Human Beings not Human Doings and sometimes it’s very good to just be. It was eureka moment for me–Aha! I don’t have to be doing something every minute of every day! Now mind you, I have a very hard time just being, but I try to remind myself to take some time to just sit and be. Try it, Carol, just try it. And let me know how it goes. I’m off to paint my finger nails and read for a while!

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    You gave me a few good guffaws, Deb. Thanks!

    P.S. What color did you paint your nails?

I LOVE hearing from you!

