Salt on asphalt adds dramatic texture to artwork

Salt on asphalt creates a fabulous design that could be used anywhere in a collage piece to add “texture.” Because it is black and white, color can easily be painted into it. Of course, any image can be changed to black and white, but when it starts out that way, there is something very dramatic about it.

Salt on asphalt 1

Salt on asphalt 2

These are going to be a blast to work with in Photoshop Elements.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salt on asphalt adds dramatic texture to artwork

  1. Sherri says:

    Who knew salt on asphalt could be so beautiful? I just feasted my eyes on your recent posts…I love the beautiful colors. Leftover paint on magazine pages – what a wonderful idea! I will try to remember that the next time, because I find I always have paint leftover on my palette and I feel a twinge of guilt about it going to waste. No more!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      You’ll be astounded at the results, Sherri.Paint, gesso and magazine pages have an alchemical reaction, I think.

      Thanks for stopping by–beauty is all around us, and in the most unexpected places.

I LOVE hearing from you!

