A lot of smoke but no fire

Sometimes, an art piece tales a LONG time to develop. There may be a lot of smoke, but no fire.

It doesn’t have that spark that says YES, and gets you excited. You have to go on faith, because you have made pieces you like before.

I started out with this, from February 11:

Finding Your Way

Then came layer 2:

Layer 3:

And layer 4:

I am not in love with any of them.

Layer 5 is drying as we speak. I may just add some more collage and see where that takes me. I have to accept that some days there is just the practice, and no tangible reward.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Paintings, Paper, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A lot of smoke but no fire

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    For me, the practice often IS the reward. Every time I reorganize my studio space I find yet another bag of papers that I decorated using one technique or another, then put away because for whatever reason, I was disappointed. I often look at the contents and think “one of these days”…… It’s probably time to add some stitch!

  2. Shirley Bartell says:

    I keep forgetting to check the [Notify me] box below the comment section! So I’m asking again, what type of thread are you using?

  3. Pingback: Collage and green paint change everything « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

