Sometimes the Back Is As Interesting As the Front

Stitched Paper

.
..
.
.
.
.
.
.

.

Usually, I stitch on paper alone.This piece is a typical example.

For these two journal pages, I put the pages onto felt. I do love the buttery way the needle slips through the paper into the felt, and I has lots of depth to work my ends into. However, you can’t just add such a thick piece, especially one with a felt backing, onto an artwork in progress. For one thing, felt doesn’t glue  well. I purchased some glue made especially for that purpose~ felt glue ~and am curious if it will work better than white glue.

..
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

I have added more of my printed paper to the stitched piece shown at the beginning of this post. More stitching to follow.


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

I must say, I really like the way the back looks. It is every bit as interesting as the front, to my eyes.

I do have little tricks for preventing and healing rips, sewing long lines of stitch, dealing with corners, etc.

And the whole time I am stitching, my mind fills with ideas and images. It is as if that little metal implement is a magic wand of creativity.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Art Processes, Materials, My Processes, Paintings, Stitch, Wiebe Way Applique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes the Back Is As Interesting As the Front

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    I love this backside too! How about creating a reversible piece?

    You might try heavy gel medium to stick the felt down. Just a thin layer should do it and because it’s a heavy (not soft!) medium, it shouldn’t soak through. Try it on a sample first!!

    Other possibility is a heat activated adhesive (MistyFuse, Steam-a-Seam 2 – both of which I’ve used to fuse felt to paper and they work very well) but if you’re putting it onto the piece to finish it off just be aware that it takes some heat to seal the bond which might put your paint and embellishments at risk.

    In my experience, heat only makes the bond stronger, no matter what the glue. I heat set pieces held together with double sided tape to give them more permanence. I’ve also heat set foiled items (PVA glue) that won’t stick with great success.

I LOVE hearing from you!

