Get out your magnifying glass

If you get out your magnifying glass, you might be able to see that I’ve added a lot more stitch to Journal page 2.

Journal page 2.1

It’s easy to add pencil marks as you go along. I prefer pencil to pen, as the ink is very hard to paint over. The pencil lines show slightly, later, but I like that look.

The stitching on the edges doesn’t matter;  it will be covered later, so I just quickly blanket stitch or even overcast them to keep them in place. Even very irregular stitching looks good with paint on it, though, so this is perfect for far-less-than-perfect embroiderers like myself.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Art Processes, My Processes, Paintings, Paper, Stitch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get out your magnifying glass

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    Every new piece is just that much better than the last! I love the directional stitching on this one, though I’ve come to really appreciate that ‘meandering’ stitch! BTW, I keep forgetting to ask you what thread you use? So far I’ve had pretty good luck with C&C Dual Duty Plus but am wondering if a plain cotton quilting thread might be better? I have no idea how it would take the paint/dye/colored pencils – but I’m always game to try something different!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I just use Gutermann 100% polyester. I tried the cotton thread, but my Bernina didn’t like it. I had a lot of breakage. It didn’t give me any improvement on how it took paint and colored pencil (I am, in fact, quite happy with Gutermann thread on that score) so I didn’t buy any more. It was also more expensive.

I LOVE hearing from you!

