Take your painting start, cut it up, and sew the pieces together

I painted the matte/frame, first shown in  Framed, white. I love ripped edges on journal pages, in a rainbow of colours, but I also appreciate how a pure white matte sets off the painting inside it. I am just about finished stitching the painting start inside it. (I know, I said I was done already). Subsequent layers of paint follow.

I painted another painting start:

Why do I ALWAYS reach for blue?

I cut it in half, and added other bits for 2 more journal pages.

Journal page 1

Journal page 2

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Art Books / Journals, Paintings, Paper, Stitch. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take your painting start, cut it up, and sew the pieces together

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    Carol, you are just too clever! I have a duplicate base of my first CPQ in my studio and was looking at it this morning, thinking that I’d like to do something different with it. I thought of cutting it into strips and weaving them with something else…… now will try your method.

  2. Sherri says:

    Blue and green are my two favorite colors…my house is filled with those two colors, as well as my wardrobe. Needless to say, I love this piece of art you’ve done!

  3. Pingback: Get out your magnifying glass « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

  4. Pingback: Sometimes the Back Is More Interesting Than the Front « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

