Leave no doubts

Just in case you were not yet fully convinced that I am obsessed with stitching paper, here is another piece that I am working on presently which will leave no doubts.

Another stitched paper in progress

Here’s the thing: I struggle with this kind of work, because it is so time consuming. But no matter what kinds of shortcuts I find for myself (like free motion stitching by machine), I eventually find myself getting back to long, meditative hours with a needle and thread.
I remind myself, to no avail,  how much more productive I could be if I just painted and stitched by machine. Period. But I keep hand stitching anyway. In fact, in this piece I added a new wrinkle by imposing ripped pieces to the paper, bit by bit, and stitching them in place, rather than just stitching a single painted or printed page.

I do love the worn edges. The whole paper becomes worn after a while, and feels quite cloth-like.
I guess I’ll  just have to trust that I need to do this ~ because I am. Where it’s taking me will surface in its own good time. And I do know that being creative is more than just being productive.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes, Paper, Stitch, Thought Processes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leave no doubts

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    I hear you Carol, on all counts. I do most of my artwork while standing. I had to discipline myself to channel tasks to the seated position. Coloring images and sewing by hand or on the machine are relegated to that category and now I try to do a little of that every day.

    I also try to organize myself (however loosely) so that I have a rough plan when I get up every day. If I’m doing “wet” work (painting, pasting) I try to get that done first so I can be doing something else while that’s drying. Since I started working on the paper quilts though, I find I’m spending a LOT more time on the computer, selecting and composing images and printing them off (tomorrow’s worksheets!). I find that I can do a lot of that while I’m waking up with the first cuppa. Some days / weeks are devoted entirely to finishing. Isn’t it odd that I feel much more fulfilled when I’m producing a piece than I do when it’s done? Maybe I need to add “photo and post” to my To Do list! Feedback always helps keep me motivated!

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    It isn’t odd, Shirley–I am very much a process person. Once the piece is done, I hardly think about it any more. I am too much into the next process!

  3. Pingback: Sometimes the Back Is More Interesting Than the Front « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

