No-one can say I haven’t stitched this piece enough.

STOP, already! Do you think I’ve been carried away a bit?

I just have to laugh. Next, I start painting again.

Don’t worry, those edges will get covered. You will also notice that the thread pulls at the paper a bit (and makes visible holes), but when one knows one will be adding paint again, it doesn’t matter. You’ll see!

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Materials, Paintings, Paper, Stitch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No-one can say I haven’t stitched this piece enough.

  1. Sherri says:

    This technique with the stitching on the painted paper is absolutely beautiful…colors and texture and depth, oh my! I could stare at them all day. I know very little about sewing, but if I did I’d want to do this.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Sherri, It’s just the craziest thing, but I love doing it. I take thread and paper everywhere, including the dentist office, and work, where I stitch during my lunch hour. I love to draw with a needle, and it is SO much fun to paint later.

  2. Sherri says:

    Carol, you did all this stitching by hand?? That’s amazing! I was assuming you did it ‘freestyle’ on a machine. The organic shapes are so beautiful.

  3. Carol Wiebe says:

    I do a lot on the machine, but that is not nearly so relaxing. I sound like I’m driving a race car as I stitch through all the layers at high speed!

    Thank you: soon you’ll see how the paint interacts with the stitching.

  4. Pingback: Take your painting start, cut it up, and sew the pieces together « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

I LOVE hearing from you!

