Sometimes more is less

I’ve added the spirit house to the inside front cover, and added more paint.

Inside front cover (version 2)

At this point I almost wish I had left it as it was on the first go, when it was more minimalist and with the words emerging and only partially visible.

But it’s too late for that now! I must move forward, because I am not satisfied with the way it looks at present.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Art Books / Journals, Art Processes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes more is less

  1. Shirley Bartell says:

    I often feel the same way about some of the pieces that I create! And sometimes the finished piece is so far from my original intention that I end up either adding more stuff or cutting it up and turning it into something else entirely!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I think we have to push ourselves to learn more: if we are afraid to push farther, in the end we will think we are keeping safe, but our work will lack vitality.

I LOVE hearing from you!

